D.K.C. MacDonald Memorial Lecturer

The D.K.C. MacDonald Memorial Lecturer is an important focus of the conference and the Lecturer is chosen by the Chair of the conference. This award is not open for nominations. 

Metal Chemistry Award & Metal Physics Award

Award Procedures – How to nominate a candidate

  • All nominations must be submitted no later than January 27 of the year of the conference
  • The nomination package must include a letter to the Secretary of MetSoc indicating: the name and position of the nominee, the award category (Metal Physics or Metal Chemistry) and why the person is an appropriate candidate (view criteria)
  • Package much include a separate CV or biography
  • The nomination package must be sent by email to the MetSoc office. A confirmation should follow within 72 hours.

To contact the MetSoc office:

Tel: (514) 939-2710
Email: metsoc@cim.org

Please note that the awards process is confidential, and as such, we ask that no nominations be disclosed or discussed, except by those who are preparing and submitting the nomination.

View the past recipients of the CMSC Awards

Award Criteria

The Metal Chemistry Award

History: The Metal Chemistry Award was conceived by Professor H. Hancock of the Technical University of Nova Scotia in 1988 to recognize outstanding contributions to metallurgical chemistry as epitomized by the inaugural winner, Professor L.M. Pidgeon of the University of Toronto. Since the time of its inception the award has included recipients from universities, industry and government laboratories engaged in research activities ranging from hydrometallurgy, molten salt chemistry, corrosion and fundamental physical chemistry bearing upon smelting and refining processes.

Criteria: For outstanding scientific contributions in the area of metal chemistry and distinguished service to the Canadian metal chemistry science community. This award generally covers the science related to the processing and production of materials.

The Metal Physics Award

History: The Metal Physics Award was conceived by Professor T.S. Hutchison of the Royal Military College of Canada to recognize achievements in fundamental physics of importance to the understanding of metals as materials. At the time of its first award to Z.S. Basinski in 1977, the advancement of dislocation theory was the very essence of the kind of achievement the award was intended to recognize. Although the Award since that time has been awarded for excellence in a much broader range of research achievement including advancement in non-metallic materials.

Criteria: For outstanding scientific contributions in the area of materials and distinguished service to the Canadian materials science and engineering community. This award more specifically covers material property fundamentals and materials characterization, including the development of measurement techniques in these areas.  

Awards Guidelines

  1. Each award is normally made annually at CMSC and requires the delivery of a keynote lecture at that event.  No more than one award is made per year.
  2. All nominations will stand for 3 years.
  3. The adjudication of the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the CMSC.
  4. The CMSC Awards committee is composed of past recipients and chaired by the MetSoc Secretary.
  5. The Secretary of MetSoc, after ensuring that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and that the procedures were followed, in turn forwards the nomination and its supporting documentation to the CMSC Awards Committee.
  6. The nominations are then put to a vote by ballot of the committee. The ballot must include a “no award” option.
  7. The Award plaques are prepared by the MetSoc office and presented by the Conference Chairman, or designate, either at the close of the keynote address or awards banquet.
  8. Self nominations are not permitted.
  9. Nominations involving candidate participation may jeopardize the candidacy and result in rejection.